PDA

View Full Version : Dining table advice

Zac wingert
06-28-2018, 4:05 AM
I am new to woodworking, about six months deep, and I am going to build a dining table for my family. I just finished this table for someone else as a practice exercise. It started as rough lumber from the local hardwood seller. Made from poplar, it’s roughly 60x20x30. The joinery is just pocket holes as I feel to green to attempt mortise and tenon with my experience level and tools I own. The person I am giving it to is using it’s a counter, if anything. Any advice or questions are appreciated. Thank you.

https://sawmillcreek.org/blob:https://sawmillcreek.org/8854f30a-0a09-4d01-97dd-c4672a93cd7f

Wade Lippman
06-28-2018, 8:26 AM
As long as they can't be seen, or are filled, there is nothing wrong with pocket screws.
Poplar though is very soft and won't hold up well as a table. Neither is it terribly attractive.

And make sure you account for seasonal wood movement.

Stan Calow
06-28-2018, 9:04 AM
Start with a good set of plans. There are subtleties to design, joinery and proportion that its best to follow an existing tested design than to wing it or modify. What I keep finding out, is when I start adjusting the plan, that there usually was a reason why it was designed that way in the first place.

Jim Becker
06-28-2018, 9:08 AM
Poplar though is very soft and won't hold up well as a table. Neither is it terribly attractive.