PDA

View Full Version : Checkbook is open - need advice!

Tom Majewski
11-20-2005, 2:14 PM
This is a great forum and I'm glad I stumbled onto it.

I’m trying to decide which laser to purchase. I’ve been talking to reps from Universal, Epilog, and Pinnacle. From all the input I get, it seems that a 35-40W laser will do. Basically, I’m a very artistic fellow (in my own mind and dreams-lol) who wants to combine my woodworking, metalworking, jewelry making, glass fusing, ceramics, and model making with some laser creations. It would also be great if people would beat a path to my door to buy this stuff and I can quit my day job, but…. who knows. I'd hate to buy this only for my personal entertainment.
Btw my day job is woodworking/ graphics/3D modeling/autocad design, and programming 4 axis cnc routers.
<O:p</O:p
I had tons of questions to ask, which brand, what power, what can I cut, what to charge… but from reading back to the first post here, most of my questions have been answered. THANKS!
I guess the only question left, before I write a huge check, is this.
Is there anyone here who once, twice, or every day said – ya’know… this laser purchase was a bad idea. I’m not making what I thought I would be, people are not buying, I should sell this thing on ebay and put my money back in the bank.