PDA

View Full Version : Boss Laser 1630

John Nicolosi
05-31-2018, 2:10 PM
I知 looking to buy a New Boss Laser 1630 and was looking for some feedback on the company and the 1630.
Any and all info or comments. What other equipment should I get.
I知 new to laser cutting but not afraid to dive in.
I値l be using it for light to med hobby / Etsy sales.

Thanks

Bill George
05-31-2018, 2:46 PM
I’m looking to buy a New Boss Laser 1630 and was looking for some feedback on the company and the 1630.
Any and all info or comments. What other equipment should I get.
I’m new to laser cutting but not afraid to dive in.
I’ll be using it for light to med hobby / Etsy sales.

Thanks

Search yields > https://sawmillcreek.org/search.php?searchid=9282166

In addition there are a couple of Stickys that may cover your question.

Keith Downing
05-31-2018, 3:09 PM
Bill is correct, this is probably a topic that should be searched as I know I personally have answered this question 2-3 times over the last couple of years.

Anyways, I'll give you a quick rundown of my basic opinions:

Boss is a good/reputable company. And support is good/knowledgeable as well.

With Boss, or Rabbit, or any other new US reseller of Chinese machines you're basically paying a (small) premium on top of the Chinese machine's cost for them to import/inspect/upgrade the machine; and then for their US based support and warranty on the machine. You can almost always import a comparable Chinese machine yourself for less, but I think for most people it is worth the trade-off for your first machine if you're sure you're going the Chinese route. They will save you a lot of headaches. You'll likely also have your machine 30+ days sooner in a lot of cases.