PDA

View Full Version : Can a rip saw be sharpened for a crosscut?

Adam Herd
05-15-2018, 12:34 AM
I have 3 old saws all three are sharpened for a rip cut. 2 out of the 3 have more TPI then one. I want to make one of the 2 a crosscut if it is easy. Can i simply sharpen it at the correct angle or is there something else that makes a crosscut saw a crosscut saw?

Jim Koepke
05-15-2018, 1:36 AM
It is actually rather easy to change between rip cut and crosscut filing.

TheVintage Saws Library has the information you need to know:

http://www.vintagesaws.com/library/library.html

Click on "Saw Filing--A Beginner's Primer"

jtk

Brandon Speaks
05-15-2018, 10:15 AM
Just sharpen with more rake and fleam. 15 degrees of each seems pretty standard, I am no expert on exact degrees though.

steven c newman
05-15-2018, 10:20 AM
And maybe a bit more "set" to the teeth.

lowell holmes
05-15-2018, 1:09 PM
I have successfully re-toothed hand saws. Just file the tooth line smooth, tape a tooth pattern to the saw.

Take a red marker and coat the smooth tooth line. Take saw file and file a single stroke at each line on the pattern. If you take
a small flat stick with a hole in it and insert the pointed end of the saw file in that hole, you can precisely file a single line at
each tooth point. After that shape the teeth, introduce fleam to the teeth, set teeth, and then sharpen the saw.
I only do this to saws that need it.

I made saw tooth patterns on the computer with a drafting program, but I remember tooth patterns can be down loaded.

Tom M King
05-15-2018, 4:48 PM
I don't know what you have, but a 7 point crosscut handsaw will cut a 2x4 in 7 strokes. I don't see the need for a crosscut saw with fewer teeth than that.

lowell holmes
05-15-2018, 11:27 PM
I consider a 7 point saw to be a rip saw and my crosscut saws are 8 to 10 point saws. My D-12 Disston came as a 10 tpi crosscut.

Rob Luter
05-16-2018, 6:02 AM