PDA

View Full Version : Planing boards flat

Travis Unruh
04-27-2018, 11:19 PM
I've been attempting to build a workbench following the videos released by Paul Sellers in his master class series. I've noticed that while planing the legs, the ends tend to round off. The result is a slight arch in the legs as the center sits higher than the ends by several mm's. Despite my efforts to get the legs true and straight, I continue to get the same result. I am new to working with hand planes and can't seem to identify what I am doing wrong. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I have been using a #7 and the pieces are about 32" long.

Warren Mickley
04-28-2018, 5:08 AM
The remedy for a surface that is humped in the middle is to plane the center while avoiding the ends of the board. We use a straight edge regularly to check our progress. You don't want to take anything off at the ends until the hump is gone.

Beginners often have a problem rounding over the ends, so making a cut avoiding the ends should be a regular pattern. Even David Charlesworth, who claims to have used a plane for decades, says he cannot plane a flat surface repeatedly without going convex.

Steve Kaminska
04-28-2018, 6:41 AM
I've noticed this in my own work as well. I think we have a tendency to bear down on the plane to start the cut as well as to ensure it finishes through the end of the board. If you watch Paul's videos carefully, even he spends more time planing in the middle of the board than making complete passes.

Phil Mueller
04-28-2018, 7:38 AM
Hi Travis,