PDA

View Full Version : Opinions...used Powermatic 66 (1998) or brand new grizzly G0690x

brian cammarata
04-13-2018, 11:52 AM
I was about the to pull the trigger on a new (and my first cabinet saw) - grizzly G0690x.

A friend of a friend who has had a home workshop since the 80's is slowing down and offering up for his POWERMATIC 66 2 hp saw.

Saw is in great cosmetic shape, but nothing has ever been replaced.

Both are same spend / costs around ~$1800.

Powermatic a bit more involved due to location / pick up / transportation vs grizz being delivered to my door

Is the allure of shiny gold clouding my judgement?

Would anyone go used over new in this situation and price? 383735

glenn bradley
04-13-2018, 12:12 PM
I am a Grizzly fan but, the PM is probably a superior machine but that price is high. I am not a PM expert and don't know if the late 90's was a good or bad spell for them. If it was a good spell, the PM will be better made, more solid but, lack a riving knife. There are plenty of PM 'mustard in the blood' types here who can probably tell you better about production periods. Your thoughts on a riving knife would factor in to your decision.

Martin Wasner
04-13-2018, 12:18 PM
That's a really high price in my opinion for a 66. Some of that could be demographics.

Do some digging, powermatic had some good and bad years. It's probably a solid saw. I've got 99' that's been a decent saw. Smooth-ish movement of the trunnion, well cut threads on the arbor, reasonable vibration for a belt drive saw, and the motor has only been out once in the time I've owned it.

I had a 2004 that was a piece of garbage.

Marshall Harrison
04-13-2018, 12:32 PM
Its really your decision and if that year was not a bad one for PM then you would do well either way but I would lean towards a riving knife.

But a lot more bragging rights come with the PM66. You too could become a mustard slob. :D

David Utterback
04-13-2018, 12:43 PM