PDA

View Full Version : About the flu

Mike Cary
04-07-2018, 8:33 PM
I read some threads here with flu related topics and I thought some people may be interested to know more about it. I am a medical professional. During the last swine flu scare a few years ago I was asked to write the pandemic flu plan for our county. So I've done a little research.

First, what is the flu. The flu is a bird virus. It is passed between birds, usually waterfowl, through feces. It converts at some point to an airborne strain that can be passed to humans, or a secondary vector like a pig. It usually originates in Asia, China mostly, and then travels across the world. Although the last swine strain originated in Mexico. Due to human mobility, it now travels faster than ever before. Flu does not crop up on its own because you went out side without a jacket. Flu is only spread person to person. If you wonder it you have the flu, check and see if anyone else has the flu, if they don't, neither do you. As flu is spread across America, usually from one of the coasts, watch the news and you can see it coming.

There are many strains and two types, A & B, A is the more severe. Flu season is almost always in the winter. This is because flu is spread through water droplets or vapor expelled by infected people's breath. Confined spaces spreads the flu. In the winter we are indoors more, kids are back in school, etc. Unfiltered air in airplanes is a good place to suck up some virus. When you hear that you should wash your hands and not touch your eyes or nose, while that is a really good idea, it does not help much to prevent flu, colds yes definitely, although you will hear people on TV, tell you it does. They like to make people believe they are in control. If you get the flu, you probably breathed it. Unlike the cold virus which can live on surfaces for a long time the flu is more labile.