PDA

View Full Version : What determines a chisel's quality?

Adam Herd
04-07-2018, 2:06 PM
I am a college student and I am trying to slowly transition out of lower quality tools to higher quality longer lasting tools. I started another post the other day asking where people buy their tools. I stated that a lot of times I use amazon or big box stores (I prefer lowes). Many of the people who responded to that post said they never buy tools from places like lowes. This got me wondering, what makes a chisel a good chisel. Most of my chisels are kobalt chisels from lowes. I like the kobalt because they are cheap and never had an issue with them. So this is making me wonder why Brands like lie nelson chisels are better than the cheaper chisels like Kobalt. What is the difference and how do I know I am buying a quality chisel. I am not against working up to buying more expensive tools if there is a functional purpose behind it. I am not one who needs something just for the brand. No reason to buy a Ferrari when my Honda fit works perfectly well.

ken hatch
04-07-2018, 2:38 PM