PDA

View Full Version : MDF, Baltic Birch, and neader tools for them?

Matt Lau
04-06-2018, 12:38 PM
Hey Neanderdudes (and non dudes),

I'm a self taught noob, and I've never felt comfortable doing dovetails with a router or table saw.
I'd like to do some carcass work in baltic birch...but the thought of fracturing a beautifully hand forged Japanese blade on that stuff makes me want to cry. Ditto for MDF. Some things are way easier to do with chisel and handplane than a router or tablesaw.

Can you guys recommend some chisels and other tools for that type of material?

On my shortlist are: Narex, Stanley Sweetheart, maybe a fancy powdered steel Japanese chisel from Stan?
As for planes, I think mujingfang and LV PMV11 should work.
Saws, I just use disposable japanese saws.

I'm pretty sure that I'm overcomplicating things.
Part of me doesn't want to abuse tools....but another part of me doesn't want to buy BORG crap.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

David Bassett
04-06-2018, 12:55 PM
I guess I have the same question floating in the back of my mind. So far my take is manufactured wood works best when machined. OTOH- some tasks just aren't worth setting up (or worse, traveling to a machine) and some suitable hand tools are good.

I've been happy with the way a Vaughan Bear Saw pseudo-Japanese saw's induction hardened teeth work in plywood & MDF.

Haven't really tried planing and haven't found a chisel solution.

Philipp Jaindl
04-06-2018, 1:04 PM
Honestly anything will work as long as its sharp though if you're looking for purely beater tools some of the high alloyed Toolsteels might work better for that purpose or better yet HSS.

Stubai Spezial with the Plastic handles is what I'm used to they work great and can take a beating, Narex or any other Name brands should work just fine too.

Patrick Chase
04-06-2018, 2:15 PM