PDA

View Full Version : best way to sharpen plane irons?

Adam Herd
04-04-2018, 9:27 PM
So i'm a poor college student and I have decided to splurge and buy a good hand plane when the weather starts to get warmer. I'm going to get the wood river 5 1/2 from wood craft. I have watched a million videos on you tube on how to sharpen. Every one has a their favorite way to sharpen. i'm looking for suggestions on the best way to sharpen not only that but specific products. I'm looking for something that is quick, easy, cost efficient, and long lasting. thanks for all the suggestions.

Matt Day
04-04-2018, 10:07 PM
You’re asking for a lot there. Scary sharp, work sharp, Makita 9820-2, water stones, grizzly Tormek copy.... they all satisfy at least 2 of your criteria.

You should have posted in the Neander Forum by the way.

Phillip Mitchell
04-04-2018, 10:27 PM
It’s like the old saying about sports cars...

”Fast, cheap, reliable. Pick two.”

Getting edge tools as sharp as they need to be to just let the tool do the work takes a combination of money, time/sweat, skills, and practice.

Any method that’s going to be “easy” for a beginner isn’t likely to yield an edge that’s truly sharp or long lasting. Obviously my opinion, but I think many will agree with it.

If you’re new to sharpening, or don’t have a system in place already for getting edge tools properly sharp, I would recommend working on developing a system that works for your budget and disposition and practicing it until it works and is repeatable time and again. Honing guides are great. Don’t be ashamed to use one or think you need to tough it out and freehand everything bc that’s takes a bit of experience, practice and skill to do successfully.

I don’t know if anyone can really tell you what the best approach is for you. Lots of variables in that equation.

Andrew Hughes
04-04-2018, 10:57 PM
Pick a method that make sense to you and keep at it.
There's a zillion different ways but they all take perseverance.