PDA

View Full Version : Hi, new 2 site...a few questions.

Steven Amaral
03-29-2018, 9:31 PM
Hi all.
I am new to asking/researching on this site..I may have joined 8 yrs ago but never used the resource..regret it.

I have a few questions...maybe I should keep 2 one topic// dunno, new to rules of engagement ;/

first - epoxy question
What brand do u use (economically in a larger bottle). I have been using BSI, Bob Smith Ind, as well as my CA, and...(the CA tip clogging has me furious...I cannot keep the bottles working when needed...I have a sewing needle and needle nose next to the bottle~~ regardless)...
I need a reliable Epoxy in a good size for a workbench top I am planning..I am using vintage Fir with mega amount of old nail holes...the lumber was used as very old WWII 40 foot pump jacks, it is a true 2" thick x 4"...it should make a great laminated top when done...
The stock has a million+ old empty (scanned) nail holes that I wish to fill with epoxy before planning the laminated together slabs. (I am building a Roubo).

appreciate advice on lrger bottles of epoxy u use, preferably Amzn bought...thnx all.
nice to meet ya
Steve

Jim Becker
03-30-2018, 9:53 AM
Welcome to the 'Creek!

I think you'll find that a lot of folks like West Systems for epoxy resin applications.

Please be sure that you get any residual metal out of that wonderful vintage timber before you start slicing and dicing!

Art Mann
03-30-2018, 10:12 AM
The other name brand name that is popular is System Three. There are many other good ones. If you are filling nail holes, don't use straight epoxy. Mix it with wood flour (commercial product) or use very fine sanding dust. Make up a consistency of peanut butter. This is standard practice in the boat building industry. The patch will be more stable and the epoxy will go a lot further. Only use straight epoxy for appearance purposes.

Steven Amaral
03-30-2018, 2:23 PM