PDA

View Full Version : Critique this platform bed (with drawers) that I designed to be knocked-down

Dan Friedrichs
03-25-2018, 9:22 PM
I’d like to build a king-sized bed frame as a wedding present for a family member. I’ve never built a bed frame, before, so I built myself a queen-sized “prototype” to make sure the joinery works as I want. I’d like to hear comments on the design and execution – PLEASE mercilessly critique, as I want the one I build as a gift to be good-quality.

Here's the sketchup model:

https://i.imgur.com/TroWQXq.jpg

I like the foam mattresses that are popular, these days, and with those, box springs are nothing but a cheap, squeaky spacer, and are completely unnecessary. That said, without a box spring, a mattress is usually quite low to the ground in most bed frames. If the frame is tall enough to put the mattress at “regular” height, there is a weird appearance of it floating off the ground. So I filled that empty space with some drawers (not yet installed, in these pictures).

Making a platform bed with drawers is complicated by the need to break it down for transport. I think I’ve devised some solutions for this, but maybe better options exist.

So here are the pieces. There are 2 mid-rails to support the slats (2 are probably unnecessary for the queen, but will be needed for the king, I think). I don’t like bed bolts, so corner joinery is 2x 8x40mm Dominos plus one of these (http://www.leevalley.com/us/hardware/page.aspx?p=50302&cat=3,43715,43730&ap=1)brackets at each corner. The mid-rails also have 2x dominos, but no other hardware.

https://i.imgur.com/XxzYgQ5.jpg

Since Lee Valley sells those brackets for this purpose, I tend to believe they are sufficient (even without the Dominos, which I assume are bearing most of the weight, anyways), but the corner joinery still feels "iffy" to me. What do you folks think?

https://i.imgur.com/80LDceI.jpg