PDA

View Full Version : Thickness planer

Larry Foster
03-06-2018, 7:13 PM
I am a weekend hobbyist, at best.
I don't anticipate ever being a master craftsman or producer of the highest quality fine woodwork.

Been contemplating getting a planer for my tiny shop for a while.
Since space is limited, I'm probably looking at a bench top/lunch box type.

Due to practicality and budget, probably looking at lower end tools.

I have pallets coming out my ears and a saw mill down the road that I'm going to check out.

Is this something I should even contemplate?

The impetus for posting now is Harbor Freight has their Bauer 12.5" planer on sale this week for $250.
I see a Wen at Home Depot for $260
Porter Cable at Lowes for $269

Somebody has a Delta for $329 but that's about my upper limit for what I want to spend.

I'm not interested in getting a used one from Craigslist because I like warranties and (sometimes) credit purchases.
Also, not mechanically clever to fix things.

Thanks for any suggestions or input

scott spencer
03-06-2018, 7:17 PM
Did you look into a DeWalt DW734? That's a well proven unit with good features and performance.

Larry Foster
03-06-2018, 7:26 PM
Only briefly, scott.

It's $399 at Lowe's which is starting to get to be more than I want to get into.

I know you get what you pay for.

Thanks for your input

Matt Day
03-06-2018, 7:37 PM
Did you see this thread? very similar situation.

https://sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?262813-Wen-Three-blade-thickness-Planer

Larry Foster
03-06-2018, 7:42 PM
I did a search before posting, Matt.
I'll check it out.
Thanks

Lee Schierer
03-06-2018, 9:37 PM