PDA

View Full Version : Belt Sander

Bernie Weishapl
11-12-2005, 2:09 PM
I have been looking at belt sanders to replace my boat anchor craftsman. I have looked at all brands. Is there any advantage or disadvantage of say a 3" X 18" or 3" X 21" or a 3" X 24"? Do any of these sizes make a difference? Most of my sanding is small and the craftsman just weighs a ton. Thanks.

Jim Becker
11-12-2005, 2:13 PM
In the VERY rare case I want to use a belt sander, the 3" x 21" that I have works just fine. (Mine is a Bosch) It's also much lighter than the larger 4" x 24" units.

Don Baer
11-12-2005, 2:13 PM
Bernie,
I have a 3x18 and love it since it fairly light. My Neighbor who is a cabinate maker by trade has a larger one but he will borrow my smaller one occsionaly, says he likes the smaller/lighter size also.

tod evans
11-12-2005, 2:53 PM
bernie, as with most tools the continuing costs of the disposables usually end up costing umpteen times more than the tool itself. if you`re able to look at your choices in person and determine what brand and model fits you that`s the wisest move. then make sure you have a reliable source for the disposables, in this case belts. quite often the odd sizes cost 50% more than the more common ones. if the brand you decide on has a service center close that should be a couple points in their favor. tod

jack duren
11-12-2005, 7:52 PM
if your gonna buy one just get a 3x24 or a 4x24. bosch or porter cable. its almost a waste to buy anything smaller unless you only do small stuff......jack

Vaughn McMillan
11-12-2005, 8:54 PM
Bernie, I didn't realize until last weekend how much more expensive belts are as they increase in size.

I have a 3 x 21 sander, and awhile back I stocked up on belts...but accidentally bought 3 x 24 belts. When I took them back last weekend, I was expecting a nearly even exchange price-wise, but instead the smaller belts were about half the cost, so I got a bigger refund than I'd expected.