PDA

View Full Version : LMI Chisels? Good for Paring?

Mike Baker 2
02-11-2018, 9:29 PM
Hello.
I'm fairly new to hand tool wood working, as most of you probably know. But I have been building electric guitars for about 10 years, give or take. I have also done repairs to electrics, acoustics, violins, etc. Have replaced a couple of acoustic guitar tops, etc.
That info related, I am building an acoustic for the first time this year.
I am thinking it might be time to purchase a single 1/2"(or 12-14mm) chisel for paring use in carving the top and back braces. Something fairly nice.
I have seen the Sorby paring chisels. They are lovely.
But I'm considering the chisels from Luthiers Mercantile International, which is an instrument supply house, basically. I know that there are several instrument builders here, and they should be familiar with LMI.
I have read up on some of the luthier forums in the past, and have heard nothing but good about these chisels. But specifically for paring, of those familiar with them, what is your opinion.
These are the chisels I'm talking about. Considering the 14mm.

http://www.lmii.com/products/tools-services/chisels-gouges/lmi-chisels

I would post in the instrument makers section, but there is very little traffic there compared to here.
Thanks.

John C Cox
02-11-2018, 10:29 PM
Mike,

I bought one and honestly, I do not recommend them. I wish I could because I really like LMI...

I love the handle... Very comfortable and it works very well in my hand. It's the best thing about the chisel.

It took a ton of work to get set up - the back was very heavily polished and rounded.
The steel in mine does not hold up well to typical guitar duty work - which includes a lot of paring. The edge just rolled too easily.. I went up to 30 degrees and could not get it to hold up well..

It also wanted to take a horrible feathery, persistent wire edge that was very hard to sharpen off...

There are better chisels out there.