View Full Version : Wood glue on cast iron table saw top

Eric C Stoltzfus
01-26-2018, 8:09 AM
I spilled some wood glue on my cast iron table saw top during a glue up. It's Titebond II. How do I get it off?

BTW, this is my first post. I am a 13 year old hobby woodworker from Bedford, PA. I've been a serious woodworker for about a year, but I have been doing simple building for a long time.

Steve Lansing
01-26-2018, 8:16 AM
Let it dry completely and then it should chip off easily.

roger wiegand
01-26-2018, 8:24 AM
get one of these to scape it off

Terry Beadle
01-26-2018, 8:26 AM
Hello !

I think Mr. Lansing is right on the money....but I would also apply some Johnson's paste wax on the entire
saw surface after the glue clean up. That will protect the surface better the next time the glue decides to
make a run for it... Also you'll be pleased at the reduction of resistance after the polish is applied. The board
that's being cut will slide through the cut easily. Be sure to use spring clamps on the top and off cut side so that
the odds of a cut back will be very small. Safety first please.

Enjoy the shavings!

Prashun Patel
01-26-2018, 8:35 AM
You will probably end up with a little rust spot under the glue after you pop it off.

You can use fine steel wool and a little bit of mineral spirits (these are 2 things that are great to have on hand for a million reasons!) to remove the rust.

Cary Falk
01-26-2018, 8:42 AM
You will end up with a rust spot and then a stain. I would get it off now with dry paper towels. When the majority the glue is gone and it starts to get gummy then you can go with the razor blade scraper. Make sure all the glue is gone. Clean the table with mineral spirits and then follow with paste wax.

michael langman
01-26-2018, 10:35 AM
I got the same glue on my cast iron tablesaw top and it stained the heck out of it.

Ted Derryberry
01-26-2018, 10:41 AM
Next project: assembly table.

Lee Schierer
01-26-2018, 1:54 PM