PDA

View Full Version : Turning Ebony...

Jeremiah Jordan
11-09-2005, 7:27 AM
This is my first time to be turning ebony for a friend of mine at college who ordered some pens. I have the tubes glued in. Is there any other little tricks of the trade that I should know about such as finishing or anything like that before i turn them tonight?

Thanks

Jeremiah.

John Hart
11-09-2005, 7:49 AM
Jeremiah,

I love to turn ebony because it is so tight that it polishes like glass without finish. Then the finish is icing on the cake. I've heard (but never experienced) that ebony will crack over time if used for a pen. Perhaps they did it wrong....I dunno. I suggest something clear like laquer. It seems that the amber finishes will show a mild brown hue over the jet black of the wood....especially shellac. If cracking is a potential problem in the future....maybe some CA underneath. Good luck.

Blake McCully
11-09-2005, 9:21 AM
[QUOTE=John Hart]I've heard (but never experienced) that ebony will crack over time if used for a pen.[QUOTE]

John is right, we've made 5 pens using ebony, four cracked. The only one that didn't was a slim line my wife made for our niece. She used ebony and holly (ebony and ivory:D ) the ebony was on the bottom or nib end. I made a platinum gent's pen to show a potential customer. Got it turned and finished, and John is also correct there it finishes like a dream, and put together. It was gorgeous if I say so myself. By the time I got it to work, the cap blank had split the entire length.

The only time I use ebony now is for finials and accents, but I still love it. I have heard that African black wood is like ebony but doesn't have that same probelm. (Duh, I though African black wood and ebony were the same:eek: ). I've also had great success using macasar ebony. It has brown highlights through it but it is nice.