PDA

View Full Version : New to woodworking - table saw advice

Nick Mazzino
01-08-2018, 8:18 AM
Hello all,
I am just getting into woodworking. For the last year I have done a good amount of milling oak trees into lumber.
Now, I am trying to get a wood shop. I have built a few small tables but nothing to much yet. I have basic tools such a miter saw, belt sander, jigsaw, and a few other small tools.
I am looking to purchase my first table saw and could use some advise. I have been doing some research and there is so much out there to pick from.
My budget is around 1,200$. I will be doing a lot of thicker hardwood cuts, sometimes on boards that are slightly warped. I have 220V power in my garage as well. I will also be looking for a planer/jointer in the near future as well to help our with the warped boards.
I am open to used. I have not been able to find a decent unisaw or powermatic around my area. I have been considering the sawstop contractor saw. It is a few hundred over what I wanted to spend, but I think it would be worth it.
Any recommendations are greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

lowell holmes
01-08-2018, 9:28 AM
My son has a Sawstop. It seems like an excellent saw to me.

Having almost cutting my thumb off one time, I really appreciate the protection it provides.

If I ever replace my saw, I will get a Sawstop.

Lee Schierer
01-08-2018, 9:42 AM
I would recommend the saw stop as well. It is what I recommended to my son, but his budget wasn't quite as high as yours and he doesn't at this point intend on building furniture. He decided on the Ridgid model R4512 13 amp 10" saw. It is a decent entry level saw and was pretty well adjusted out of the box. The guards are pretty easy to work with and the fence locks up square most of the time.

The older Craftsman table 113 model saws with cast iron tops and after market fences and miter gauges work well. That is what I have. There are good cabinet type saws in your price range on Craigs list from time to time.