PDA

View Full Version : ROS recommendation under $100

Mike Manning
12-17-2017, 6:40 PM
Please don't recommend the high dollar options. I understand they are FAR better. I've read a lot of the threads and almost all of them end up being about why we should all pay $500 for a Fesdrool or a Mirka Ceros or Beeros. I am a hobbyist and I don't have the deep pockets that most of you seem to have. If you care to donate to getting me a $500 ROS please feel free. Otherwise all I'm trying to determine is what is the highest quality ROS with good dust collection that sells for under $100. Your recommendations are appreciated. If they're about a ROS under $100.

Thanks!
Mike

PS This will be my first ROS.

Barry Richardson
12-17-2017, 8:30 PM
I hear ya Mike, I don't think you can go wrong with a Makita, Bosch or Dewalt ROS, you can get any of these in variable speed for well under $100. I've had all of them at one time or another. I have a dewalt that just won't die, the cord is about shot, and I have replaced the pad many times, and the brake, but it is still going, about 20 years now.....

Ben Rivel
12-17-2017, 9:08 PM
While Ive switched over to all Festool sanders, there was nothing wrong to get a job done with the good ole DeWalt $59 ROS from Home Depot or Lowes that I used to have.

Andrew Hughes
12-17-2017, 11:40 PM
I still gave my makita Ros and im sure it still works. But I haven't used it for years since I learned how to sharpen a card scraper.

Mike Manning
12-18-2017, 12:16 AM