PDA

View Full Version : Powermatic 1200 drill press - replacing chuck?

Phillip Mitchell
11-30-2017, 9:57 PM
I'm wondering what my options are for replacing the chuck on a early 70's era Powermatic 1200 drill press. I'm a drill press newbie.

The machine does not have a chuck installed. I'm curious about where to buy a chuck, what's the best option, cost, as well as ease of install.

Also, the motor is 220V. Were these only 3 phase motors, or is there a chance it's single phase? Looks to be a variable speed model with the rectangular table with a "trough" all the way around the perimeter.

Thanks for any help!

Bill Graham
12-01-2017, 7:21 AM
Those PM presses come with a #3 Morse taper spindle so you'll need a chuck with a 3MT integrated shank, like this one (https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/63673438?orderedAs=FN63673438&pxno=60895012&rItem=63673438). Or you could buy a regular chuck and an arbor and put them together, you'll need an arbor that has a 3MT shank and a taper at the other end to fit the chuck, like one of these (https://www.mscdirect.com/browse/tn/?searchterm=3MT+arbor&hdrsrh=true).

Any of the online machinery retailers(MSC, McMaster-Carr, Grainger, etc.) will have chucks and arbors. It's best to shop the sales flyers, catalog prices for chucks are usually high. The one I linked is from the MSC flyer, their "regular" price for that chuck is $334. Here's the same chuck (https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/63673438) on their site but not linked from the sales flyer.

These were industrial machines so it's likely the motor is 3-phase, it should say on the label.

Matt Day
12-01-2017, 8:12 AM
If it is 3 phase it’s a perfect candidate for a vfd. A simple check would be If it has a capacitor it’s a single phase motor, if not it’s 3 phase. I think that’s generally true. Also check how many leads the motor has, if it has 4 its 3 phase again, generally true.