PDA

View Full Version : Any experts on residential air exchangers, northern climates?

Larry Edgerton
11-27-2017, 9:40 AM
I am in need of one, and am not well versed in the latest offerings. I am a builder so am not totally in the dark, but I always sub out that kind of work.

1340sq.ft.
Tons of glass
Superinsulated, other than the acre of glass.;) Other than the windows, the house is very air tight. No vapor barriers, perm balanced wall assemblies.
Forced air heat with both NG and wood furnaces, both with outside air intake.
9' ceilings, two people, both work during the day.

Climate is often damp here as I am located in the Straits area and surrounded by the Great Lakes. I am having a hard time keeping my interior humidity down to an acceptable level, but the outside humidity is often higher than I want to bring in. I looked into the type that transfers humidity, but they do not work at the sub-zero temps that we often get mid winter.

My heating guy that I trusted with this kind of thing just passed away suddenly, so I have to find a new one, but in the meantime, any knowledge or references that you can recommend would be appreciated.

Thanks, Larry

Alan Rutherford
11-27-2017, 12:36 PM
http://hvac-talk.com/ A great resource for anything HVAC-related as long as you don't sound like you want to DIY.

If all you want is to control humidity, there are whole-house dehumidifiers for $1,000+ and portables. We got a Frigidaire 70-pints-per-day portable (https://www.amazon.com/70-Pint-Dehumidifier-Effortless-Humidity-Control/dp/B00UWP07LK/ref=sr_1_1/134-3279838-6953945) for about $250. It keeps the house at 50% in Florida humidity during the Spring & Fall when we aren't running the HVAC and we turn it off at night. We have to empty it about once a day but it could be installed to drain somewhere and there's another version that can pump up to a drain.

Jerry Bruette
11-27-2017, 5:00 PM
Larry,