PDA

View Full Version : Advice for TS Jigs

Gary Curtis
11-04-2005, 5:31 PM
Please suggest a book for TS Jigs.

I already have the books by Kelley Mehler and Jim Tobin. The new table saw that is coming in about 6 weeks has a sliding table (General), so I won't need sleds.

Some interesting jigs appear in the books I own, but the pictures aren't clear. Measured diagrams would help.

I'm new to the Creek and am learning lots from the discussions. I'll post a Gloat with photographs when my shop has a door and the machinery is delivered.

Gary Curtis

Andy Hoyt
11-04-2005, 5:34 PM
Gary - Nothing comes to mind. But I was wondering if Trinity County can still boast that it still does not have one single stop light in it?

Doug Jones
11-04-2005, 5:40 PM
Please suggest a book for TS Jigs.

I already have the books by Kelley Mehler and Jim Tobin. The new table saw that is coming in about 6 weeks has a sliding table (General), so I won't need sleds.

Some interesting jigs appear in the books I own, but the pictures aren't clear. Measured diagrams would help.

I'm new to the Creek and am learning lots from the discussions. I'll post a Gloat with photographs when my shop has a door and the machinery is delivered.

Gary Curtis
I don't have any recommendations but,,,,
Did you do a search on Barns and Noble, Amazon, Google, Yahoo? I'm sure something there will show up.

Andrew Ault
11-04-2005, 5:49 PM
The new Best of Fine Woodworking Working with Tablesaws is pretty good.

Gary Curtis
11-04-2005, 7:49 PM
The Tolpin book on Table Saws shows an intriguing sytem for a sliding Rip Fence,.
It mentions having these fixtures to go with the rip slider: Carriage taper jig, raised panel jig, pattern fence, vacuum actuated fence, long extension fence, edge jointer, rabbet fence, end stop fence, thin stock fence, and a few others.
These things are only mentioned briefly, or shown in a photo with little explanation.

Just having a platform to hold a feather board for safety would be great.