PDA

View Full Version : Drum Sander / Thickness Planer

Don Dean
11-03-2005, 11:13 PM
I am new to woodworking and don't understand when you would use a drum sander and when you us a thickness planer. What should I get first?

Dennis McDonaugh
11-03-2005, 11:26 PM
Don, a thickness planer (along with a jointer) allows you to dimension rough stock. The jointer makes a flat reference surface and the planer makes the opposite surface parallel to the reference surface. You also use the jointer to make an edge perpendicular to the flat surfaces so the stock is flat and square. A drum sander can thickness stock, but its a slow tedious process because a sander can take off a fraction of the material a planer can. Its also a fussy machine which requires constant adjustment (at least the consumer models such as the Performax 16/32 seem to). Where the drum sander excels is in sanding finished parts such as doors. The planer and jointer also leave a multitude of shallow scallops in the stock. These have to be removed either by sanding, scraping or hand planing. The drum sander works wonders here too. I finally bought a drum sander after twenty years of woodworking and its invaluable for a few tasks, but I also go months without using it. I use the jointer and planer on every project.

Mark Singer
11-04-2005, 12:13 AM
many woods will tear out when planned...a drum sander is great for such woods. It will also flush assembled parts such as a frame ...It dosen't care that the grain is opposing the direction. It saves a lot of time. All flat pieces, such as strechers, aprons, slats, can be dimensioned and sanded on the drum sander. Planners are great for handeling rough stock...dimensioning for thickness. A very important tool. I use them both on almost every project. Drum sanders are terrific for edge banding , moldings and making veneer.

Mike Cutler
11-04-2005, 8:50 PM
Don. It all really depends on the raw material that you begin your projects with.