PDA

View Full Version : Tool Obsession?

joseph mansker
11-09-2017, 10:30 PM
OK...I am a newbie here at the Sawmill, but have been woodworking for a very long time. Usually just read the posts and stay in the background. The question that I have to pose to you is can one have too many motorized tools? I recently acquired a 14 inch DeWalt RAS ($40 bucks at an online auction if you can believe it) and a Powermatic 143 BS (the one with the dual transmission for metal/wood), both in really good shape. I already have an older 14 inch Delta BS and a 12 inch Walker Turner iron beast of a RAS. I am going to sell the Walker Turner because I really like the DeWalt, but am considering keeping the Delta and using it for wood and the Powermatic just for metal work. I am starting to think I am obsessed....:D.

Bruce Page
11-09-2017, 10:55 PM
Joseph, welcome to the club & welcome to Sawmill Creek! The only criteria I've ever used for a new power tool is if I have a need and enough room for it. At some point I ran out of room!

Travis Porter
11-09-2017, 11:13 PM
It gets worse. Once you run out of space, you start upgrading smaller stuff. Bosch/DeWalt/PC to Festool, Stanley to Lie Nielsen/ Lee valley and then you go to tooling.... Saw blades, router bits, and shaper cutters...

that doesn’t account for wood. I have lumber stored across 4 counties....

I would love to buy an automatic dovetail machine, and then I ask myself why..... I have 3 dovetail fixtures I barely use so why do I need an automatic unit.....

i digresss.... welcome to the jungle.

Frederick Skelly
11-10-2017, 7:25 AM
Welcome to SMC Joe! Glad to have you join us!

You can never have too many tools, as long as you have a big building to put them in. And power tools are a great place to start.