PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a drywall primer suggestion?

Tom Porter
11-08-2017, 11:19 PM
I'm hoping to finish mudding new drywall in a project I'm working on and will hopefully be priming and painting soon. I'm wondering if anyone has a suggestion for a decent primer. This is my first time doing drywall and the results of my mudding are likely to be mediocre. (75% of the project is garage walls, so I'm not super concerned if it ends up craptacular, especially for my first attempt at this type of project). I don't expect the primer to solve significant issues but it would be nice if it smoothed things out a bit. If anyone has any suggests about specific brands they've had success with, I'd appreciate it.

Wayne Lomman
11-09-2017, 3:06 AM
Painting won't fix the appearance but you can do minor plastering touch up after the primer. Can't recommend a brand as I'm not precisely local. Cheers

George Bokros
11-09-2017, 6:47 AM
Like Wayne said primer will not hide surface imperfections. I have good luck with Sherwin Williams Primer.

Ole Anderson
11-09-2017, 9:18 AM
Plan on touching up your mudding after priming, then touching up the primer. I just use Behr drywall primer from HD. Big project? Time to get a small airless? Graco X5.

Dave Lash
11-09-2017, 9:43 AM
I have had good results with Behr drywall primer and sealer number 73. I have found that if you have sanded your drywall mud so that there are no high spots, and then prime with this primer, it will harden the mud. After priming you can fill any remaining low spots or imperfections, and when you sand, the primed drywall mud will not be affected and only the new mud will be sanded. When you are happy with the wall surface, reapply primer to the touched up spots and you are good to go. Behr recommends that if you are using a semi-gloss paint you then apply an additional coat of their stain-blocking interior primer and sealer number 75 before painting.