PDA

View Full Version : Ridgid JP0610

Mitchell Ristine
11-08-2017, 9:07 AM
My local craigslist has a Ridgid JP0610 for $225. Very good condition. Does anyone have positive or negative experiences with that jointer?

Grant Wilkinson
11-08-2017, 9:26 AM
I've had one since they first came out - several years ago now. I hooked it to 220V, since it is dual voltage, FWIW. I've never had a problem with it. I am just a hobbyist so I can't comment on how it would hold up to daily commercial battering, but I've not done anything to mine other than having the blades sharpened.

Dave Sweeney
11-08-2017, 9:48 AM
If it's as you say in very good condition then I'd say that's a fair price. Properly setup there's not much that can go wrong with a jointer and the Ridgid has received pretty favorable reviews over the years.

Josh Kocher
11-08-2017, 10:15 AM
I've had one for 5 years or so that I bought used for about that price and it runs very well.

Nike Nihiser
11-08-2017, 10:35 AM
I have had one for 8 years or so. I am just a hobbyist also but have had no problems with mine. That's less than half price at Home Depot.

Victor Robinson
11-08-2017, 12:56 PM
I had this jointer for several years - it was my first. Really good machine if you can get it at a low/used price.

Curt Harms
11-08-2017, 3:27 PM
Do you know what you'll use it for? If you're planning to do mostly edge jointing or face jointing of narrow stock, 6" is fine and the price seems good. I buy mostly rough sawn boards and many of them are more than 6" wide, some quite a bit wider than 6". I had a 6" jointer and found it limiting for face jointing/flattening wider boards. Yes there are ways but I found it a pain. I bought a 12" jointer/planer and it works much better for what I need a jointer for. I sometimes skip plane rough boards to get an idea of grain and flaws then cut to rough size before facing/jointing/planing which can help with the board width issue and also result in less waste.

Josh Kocher