PDA

View Full Version : Lathe/Drill Press Question

Keel McDonald
11-03-2005, 8:56 AM
I have a Delta Shopmaster 17-900 Drill Press. Does anyone out there know if I can take the #2 Morse Tapered chuck from the drill press and insert it in my lathe. It also uses a #2 Morse Taper. I have looked at some lathe chucks on-line and can't seem to find any difference in the two.

Andy Hoyt
11-03-2005, 9:00 AM
Keel - An MT2 is a MT2. Likewise for MT1 and MT3. It'll fit.

Steven Wilson
11-03-2005, 10:40 AM
It works very well

Keel McDonald
11-03-2005, 12:04 PM
Andy & Steven

Thanks for replying. I'm anxious to try some new turnings using the chuck. Glad to know it works.

Jim Becker
11-03-2005, 5:38 PM
Keel, just remember that the type of chuck used on a DP has somewhat limited applications on the lathe...it's not what one normally wants a lathe chuck for, such as holding blanks for bowls and the like. But it's exactly what you need for holding certain small things as well as for use in the tailstock when boring into a blank for a number of different reasons.

Keel McDonald
11-04-2005, 7:17 AM
Keel, just remember that the type of chuck used on a DP has somewhat limited applications on the lathe...it's not what one normally wants a lathe chuck for, such as holding blanks for bowls and the like. But it's exactly what you need for holding certain small things as well as for use in the tailstock when boring into a blank for a number of different reasons.

Jim,

Turning small things is exactly what I have in mind. I am interested in turning some tops for some kids for Christmas. I will probably begin with a 2"x2"x4" block, turn it round with a tenon (handle), then remove the drive center and replace it with the DP chuck. The tenon will be held in the chuck so I can finish the turning of the base. Any reason why this wouldn't work?

Jim Becker
11-04-2005, 9:37 AM