PDA

View Full Version : Charging for work?

Tom Conger
11-02-2005, 10:56 AM
Seems as though the wife is very proud of her husbands new found hobby of woodworking. So much in fact, that her bragging about me has caused her friends to ask me to build things for them. Benches, picture frames, and shelves so far. I have a full time job, and just do wood for a hobby.

As I work in technology at a bank, having an exit strategy in place, such as doing wood work for a living, is not a bad idea. I am not adverse to constructing these projects for her friends, but I have no idea how to charge for it. For the bench, I charged just materiels as she is making curtains for us. The friend who wants the set of bookshelves wants to pay.

I know every project is different, but how do you go about setting a baseline for billing your work? I am by no means a professional, nor do I tell anyone I am. I figure there must be a general figure out there per hour or per size of project that I can use to get started.

Any comments would be appreciated.

John Cavanaugh
11-02-2005, 12:24 PM
Tom,

I read something once about someone recommending that for folks just getting started to have the person purchase for 1.5-2x the necessary wood/materials. That way you build up a supply of wood etc for your own projects that doesnt cost you anything.

I thought it was a good idea, but then again Im not employing the idea, so caveat emptor.

--
John Cavanaugh

Lee Schierer
11-02-2005, 12:27 PM
There are numerous threads on this before and lots of methods for figuring out what to charge.