PDA

View Full Version : recommendations for table saw?

Adam Herd
10-09-2017, 4:41 PM
I am in the market for a new table saw. Does any one have any suggestions? I am looking for something of a reasonable size and price maybe a 40" rip capacity. $600 plus or minus, money is a huge thing right now as I am a college student. I would love something like a jet table saw but they are very expensive and sometimes a little to big. Something with wheels definitely. is there anything out there for me?

Jim Morgan
10-09-2017, 5:04 PM
1. Read the many relevant threads on this site.

2. Check Craigslist.

Adam Herman
10-09-2017, 5:21 PM
https://syracuse.craigslist.org/tls/d/delta-seriestable-saw/6339427403.html

this is not a bad deal, i would offer 300.

Earl McLain
10-09-2017, 9:01 PM
https://syracuse.craigslist.org/tls/d/delta-seriestable-saw/6339427403.html

this is not a bad deal, i would offer 300.

Shoot, that has a UniFence on it, not the stock fence. What is visible of the top shows no signs of rust or oxidation. If it's as good as it looks, i'd more like a $350 offer, and not afraid at the full asking price. Fence could be sold for nearly $200 alone.
earl

Rick Costa
10-09-2017, 10:36 PM
With the amount of cabinet saws I've seen on the Craigslist market I think you could find a used Delta Unisaw in your price range. Some of the older powermatic can go cheap if you're willing to put some work in to clean them up they can be a steal. That being said, the delta someone suggested would be a good buy at 300. Also, it's a heck of a lot easier to move. I started on a portable Makita table saw, then a Jet contractor saw, to a like new Unisaw, finally yo my sawstop. Point being, this most likely will be only a gateway Table saw for you!

Chris Hachet
10-10-2017, 8:15 AM
Buy a track saw, seriously. It will do almsot everything a table saw will and then when you move it will go in the trunk of a car with ease.