PDA

View Full Version : Woodbutchers on the Road?

James A. Wolfe
09-12-2017, 10:48 PM
I'm a woodworker and have a fully outfitted home shop. I'd like to do a little wood butchery while traveling but not sure what works well on the road. We have a 5th wheel and pickup and I'm trying to figure out how to keep making sawdust while traveling. Any other woodworkers out there traveling with their hobby? If so, what do you bring and how do you bring it?

Jim

Jamie Buxton
09-13-2017, 12:39 AM
There's a current thread in the Neanderthal forum about that topic. http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?257561-Ft-Bragg-CA

Jim Becker
09-13-2017, 10:07 AM
As Jamie notes, the "Neander" way is a great method for continuing woodworking while traveling. If you still prefer power tools, you can easily take a "specialty" on the road, such as a scroll saw or a small lathe and have hours of woodworking enjoyment with minimal gear.

James A. Wolfe
09-13-2017, 12:23 PM
Thanks. Mostly a chat about a workbench and forest fires, but I do like the bench and may incorporate it into my plans.

James A. Wolfe
09-13-2017, 12:28 PM
Jim,
Kind of where I was headed. I thought that those two tools would give me a lot of options and could be operated in a campground without disturbing the neighbors. I like to build boxes as well so I thought about making up a buttload of parts at home and doing some veneer/inlay work while traveling.
Jim

Lonnie Gallaher
09-13-2017, 12:54 PM
Here is the link to the list of tools. http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?257747-Travel-Kit

James A. Wolfe
09-13-2017, 1:16 PM