PDA

View Full Version : Sudden Y axis problem

alan corder
09-02-2017, 4:38 PM
Hi, I have a G Weike LC1390 dual head laser. I’m using Lasercut 5.3. I have been using it for a couple of years now with no major problems.

Today I was cutting some parts and all was OK until I went to cut another part and suddenly things went a bit strange with my Y axis.

While the X axis is fine, the Y axis now only moves half way and every thing is only half the height it should be. The heads return to the datum just fine but when trying to move the head to the front of the machine using the cursor buttons the head again stops halfway.

I’ve switched off and on again numerous times and reloading the configuration file and lasercut and it’s made no difference, the gantry still stops half way between the back and the front of the machine and everything still comes out half the height it should. Checking the setting in laser cut all appears to be as it should. I’m at a total loss as to what to do next. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mike Null
09-02-2017, 4:53 PM
Are you able to manually move the gantry all the way to the front stop position?

I mean by hand not with the arrows.

alan corder
09-02-2017, 5:16 PM
Hi, I can but it's quite hard to move and I had to force it, not like when the machine is switched off. After I'd moved it to the front, when I tried to move the head to the back of the machine again using the cursor keys it stopped half way again and wouldn't go to the back until I pressed the datum button.

Mike Null
09-02-2017, 5:23 PM
I'm not familiar with your machine but I wonder if there isn't something binding such as a gear, pulley or some impediment. My first thought was the motor but since it operates adequately to move halfway on the axis it's probably ok. We have a lot of members who have similar machines so I'm sure a few of them will chime in with some ideas.

alan corder
09-02-2017, 5:29 PM