PDA

View Full Version : I'm officially a turner

Tom Sweeney
06-23-2003, 9:23 PM
Well I finally did it!
I've been too busy to hang out at the Creek much lately - & now that I'm here it's all new :cool: -

But a few weeks ago I bought a cheap used craftsman lathe. I did'nt expect too much from it but I figured what the heck.

Well last night, after I cut my jungle er I mean lawn, I cut a rough bowl blank estimated the center & chucked it on the lathe.
The wood was some of the maple from a huge old tree that I've been cutting up for about 3 years now. The wood has a lot of figure, spalting & nice grain to it. :D

Any way I got out my awsome array of turning tools

1 Craftsman 1/2 " Gouge
2 Harbor Freight hand chisels
1 4 1/2 " Grinder to keep a keen edge on those premium tools

And had at it. I ended up with a very nice, IMHO, shallow bowl.

Man I'm in trouble now - I actually completed a WW'ing project in 2 days & it looks pretty nice .

John Miliunas
06-23-2003, 9:33 PM
Congrats indeed! Wonderful feeling, ain't it? BUT, where's the pics of your finished piece? Come on Tom, give it up! :cool:

Jim Becker
06-23-2003, 9:49 PM
Man I'm in trouble now - I actually completed a WW'ing project in 2 days & it looks pretty nice .

Wait 'til you see how fast you do it in a few weekends from now...since you'll undoubtedly become overjoyed with turning and get plenty of practice.

Seriously, one of the major nice things about turning is the almost-instant gratification. Unlike furniture and the like, many turnings are done in anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours. And it doesn't take long to get the hang of it to make that a reality!

As I've said many times before and will undoubtedly say many times again..."Welcome to the addiction!"

Don Farr
06-24-2003, 7:50 AM