PDA

View Full Version : exhaust system for new laser

Jennifer Cox
08-28-2017, 6:53 PM
Newbie here,,,buying a new laser machine and the sales rep has quoted along with the machine an exhaust unit for over $5000 (cnd). Just wondering how others exhaust the fumes out of their shops? Wondering if I really need this unit or not?

Tim Bateson
08-28-2017, 7:01 PM
Depends. I'm assuming you are going to be burning, charring, melting, cutting..... All of which has some sort-of by product. Some more than others. You either breath it or exhaust it. If the $5,000 was just for the exhaust it's some sort-of indoor filter, very nice to have. The other option is venting outdoors with a $200 blower.

Mark Sipes
08-28-2017, 7:18 PM
Residential or Commercial ?....... Length of run to outside ?..... recommended CFM at laser table? ..........

I'm in a commercial area and I exhaust right out the machine thru the wall to the outside. 4" Inline fan unit. Low noise level, low friction loss, no odor complaints next to a gas station.

Residential may require a roof stack outlet to get the fume mixed so complaints are abated....requires larger fan unit to push/pull air depends on length of run.

$5,000 unit has carbon filters that are expensive to replace but in a trade show environment would be a necessity...

Hope this helps!

Jennifer Cox
08-28-2017, 7:44 PM
Yes, I will be burning, melting, cutting etc and I believe the exhaust unit is an upsell from the sales rep perhaps.

Jennifer Cox
08-28-2017, 7:47 PM
I will be putting the machine in my small shop at the lake so located in the sticks so to speak. Don't think exhausting to outside would be much of an issue around there.

Length of run would be very, very minimal

i figured maybe the $5000 unit was an unnecessary add on.

Tony Lenkic
08-28-2017, 8:40 PM
Jennifer,

In your case all you need is a dust collector style blower that will cost you less than $500.00 including all hardware and hose to vent outside.