PDA

View Full Version : Silver Poplar

Mark Cothren
10-27-2005, 11:00 PM
Another bowl from this Silver Poplar I have... it has some neat markings in it, so even though the pics ain't that great and the bowl is just a "plain" bowl, thought I'd post it up and share...

Any constructive criticism that you have on this bowl or any of my stuff is always appreciated. So feel free to give it...

It has one little spot of curl that you can't see, and has some neat "birdseye" type markings in it.

10-1/4" OD, 2-1/2" tall, 1/2" thick

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v684/markfromark/26OCT_poplar3.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v684/markfromark/26OCT_poplar2.jpg

Carole Valentine
10-27-2005, 11:04 PM
Beautiful Mark. I particularly like the bead on the bottom. What tool do you use to do that? I am not very good with small beads. :(

Bruce Shiverdecker
10-27-2005, 11:05 PM
Good looking Poplar. Very nice job. Good lookin' form and finish.

Bruce

John Hart
10-28-2005, 5:43 AM
Very pretty Mark. How come my poplar stuff looks like crrrrap? Well, you've given me something to shoot for. Thanks!:)

Michael Stafford
10-28-2005, 5:46 AM
Now that is a sweet bowl, Mr. Cothren. That is a bottom I can get used to looking at.... Very pretty bowl, Mark!:D

Mark Cothren
10-28-2005, 6:05 AM
Thanks all!

Carole, I mainly use a small detail gouge that I have ground to a fairly sharp point so that I can make the "corners". I just kind eyeball the rest of it.

It's one of those things that looks pretty good from about 15 feet away....:D but up close you'd see that it's hard for me to sand around the bead...:o

My wife like's my bottom :p so I'll keep tryin' at it.

John Hart
10-28-2005, 6:21 AM
Maybe you should try wearing a Kilt. :D :D :rolleyes: ;)

Glenn Hodges
10-28-2005, 6:40 AM
Mark, your plain bowl turned out just plain pretty. The lines one it are correct, very nice finish, and the bottom sets it off to a T.

Kurt Aebi
10-28-2005, 12:49 PM
Mark,