PDA

View Full Version : I take it all Back. Really.

Mike Baker 2
07-25-2017, 7:37 PM
A while back i posted to a wooden mallet discussion. I am new to hand tool woodworking, and mentioned that most of the woodworkers I had seen tended to use the plastic headed mallets, and I had seldom seen them use wooden ones. I posited that mallet making might perhaps be a "beginner" thing, ie; a project for new guys to help one learn a bit, and that I was perfectly happy with my $5 white rubber mallet.
Whereupon the thread was inundated with gentlemen saying "No, perish the thought. I would not know what to do without my wooden mallet", or other words to that effect.
So, I had some cutoffs from a couple of guitar builds, and decided to build me a nice mallet. I used it cutting mortises and tenon this afternoon on my bench build. I am blown away at how efficient this thing is. There is power in every strike. The lightest of taps transfers a huge amount of force to the chisel, and thus the wood. I cut split tenon with it, and it was like going from a Yugo to a high performance sports car. Wonderful, and I'd just like to say, "I would not know what to do without my wooden mallet". :D

Below are pics. It is laminated, curly maple on the outside, black walnut in the center, and straight grained maple for the handle. 3 or 4 coats of wipe on poly took care of the finish.
Once again I have to say thank you for the knowledge on this forum.

Noah Magnuson
07-25-2017, 8:35 PM
Works good. Looks Good. Can't ask for more than that.

Stanley Covington
07-25-2017, 9:01 PM
Very nice!

steven c newman
07-25-2017, 9:46 PM
Looks great from here!

Mike Baker 2
07-25-2017, 9:59 PM
Thank you, gentlemen.

Nicholas Lawrence
07-26-2017, 5:22 AM
Much nicer than mine!

George Conklin
07-26-2017, 9:33 AM
That looks really slick, Mike!

Kinda too nice to use:). Well done, Sir.

David Ragan
07-26-2017, 9:57 AM