PDA

View Full Version : Amp service for 100 watt Co2



mitch stephens
07-19-2017, 8:20 AM
Anyone know what amp service I should use for a 100 watt C02 laser. Mine came with the 110/220 converter and I would like ton run a new 220 line from panel and not use the converter. I am thinking I would need a 15 or 20 amp service but not sure. I have search recent post on here about this but did not find anything about how many amps.
Thanks in advance
Mitch

Bill George
07-19-2017, 9:56 AM
Did it come with an exhaust fan and air pump that is also 220/230 volts? Because if its all going on one circuit you need to factor that in.

Brian Lamb
07-19-2017, 11:04 AM
Can't you see what the rating of the converter is? It should have a name tag that says 110V by X amps in and 220V by X amps out.

mitch stephens
07-19-2017, 11:39 AM
Did it come with an exhaust fan and air pump that is also 220/230 volts? Because if its all going on one circuit you need to factor that in.
Yes they are 110v an I am going to run a separate circuit for them
Thanks Mitch

mitch stephens
07-19-2017, 11:41 AM
Can't you see what the rating of the converter is? It should have a name tag that says 110V by X amps in and 220V by X amps out.
It says nothing about amps unless is in Chinese

Brian Lamb
07-19-2017, 1:13 PM
Ok, what amp 110V circuit were you using it on with the converter? I doubt larger than 15 amp, so at 220V you only need half that, so a 15 amp circuit will be over kill, but I doubt you'd want to run less than that, if there are even smaller breakers than 15 amp, which I doubt.

Bill George
07-19-2017, 1:58 PM
Standard circuit breakers are 15 amp and on up. I would run a 20 amp 230 volt circuit using #12 wire. You need two hot wires and a green equipment ground. Do a search on here where we have discussed the Chinese vs US 220 (240 volt) issue many times. You do not need that transformer which more than likely a Chinese POS anyway.
The cost difference between #12 and #14 is only a few cents per foot and the double pole circuit breakers are more or less the same cost. No need to worry about voltage drop or what if I get a larger machine a year from now.

Jerome Stanek
07-19-2017, 2:16 PM
European plug have one 220 line coming in not the two that US has.

Bill George
07-19-2017, 2:37 PM
European plug have one 220 line coming in not the two that US has.

It takes two wires to have a complete circuit. Across those two wires is 220 (240 volts). Been discussed on here many times.

mitch stephens
07-19-2017, 3:00 PM
Standard circuit breakers are 15 amp and on up. I would run a 20 amp 230 volt circuit using #12 wire. You need two hot wires and a green equipment ground. Do a search on here where we have discussed the Chinese vs US 220 (240 volt) issue many times. You do not need that transformer which more than likely a Chinese POS anyway.
The cost difference between #12 and #14 is only a few cents per foot and the double pole circuit breakers are more or less the same cost. No need to worry about voltage drop or what if I get a larger machine a year from now.
Now the problem is finding the old brown Federal Pacific stab lock 2 pole 20 amp breaker. The place was built probably early 70s or late 60s and I have not had any luck finding the breaker. Any ideas on that would be greatful
Thanks Mitch

Bill George
07-19-2017, 3:35 PM
I know exactly what your talking about. Electricians Hate Federal Pacific with a passion. The last one I purchased I got at Menards a few years back, and it was a 2 pole 50 for a sub-feeder going to my shop. If you have plans in the near future to update your panel, now would be the time to go to like a Square D or other well known brand.
In the meantime I am not sure other than Menards a Midwest big box home improvement store. It looks like Home Depot also carries..... pricey 3x the cost of a Square D! You more than likely want the "thin" one.

A google brought up this > https://www.google.com/search?q=Federal+Pacific+stab+lock+2+pole+20+amp+b reaker&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-US:IE-ContextMenu&ie=&oe=

FYI for others world wide wiring > https://www.quantumbalancing.com/worldelectricity/electricityif.htm

mitch stephens
07-20-2017, 2:25 PM
I found what I need thanks everyone
Mitch