PDA

View Full Version : Who has a spouse that does wood working and/or home improvement stuff with them?

Rich Engelhardt
07-02-2017, 6:35 AM
As a sort of companion thread to this one:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?255943-How-old-are-you-and-are-passing-on-a-woodworking-legacy

Who here has a spouse that enjoys wood working and/or doing home improvement stuff with them?

My wife and I have been redoing rental property now since 2002 & every time we take on a new house, we take on more and more "stuff".

My wife did all the drywall work on the last one. She hung all the drywall in the basement, then taped and sanded it. She did a very respectable job.

LOL! & No! I didn't instruct her....I had a contractor show here step by step how to do it!

I really think the key to our 36 year marriage has been - - not to tell her what to do - - in any way shape or form! :D :D

She also does help me out in the shop from time to time, but, doesn't show a lot of interest in learning the "why" of things, like in "why do you have to edge joint lumber".

Mike Cutler
07-02-2017, 6:57 AM
Mike, Like yours, isn't interested in why, but she's part of every home project we've done. The sound and vibration of the machines is uncomfortable for her.
Hand mix 6500 lbs. of mortar and fill in our stone foundation. Tiled bathroom surrounds. Installed wood flooring, and appliances. She's involved in all of it.
We've been married 33 years, so we must have figured out our "division of labor".:D

When she silver soldered the radiator on my truck, to repair a seam leak, I did have to step back for a minute. That one got me.:cool:

kevin nee
07-02-2017, 8:20 AM
If you call going shopping for SHOES while renovations are going on. My wife is a great helper. I help her weed the garden by watching TV. We are a good team.

George Bokros
07-02-2017, 8:30 AM