PDA

View Full Version : Need ideas for a narrow inset cabinet

Dan Hahr
06-09-2017, 10:53 PM
Hi, all. I'm finishing up my kitchen cabinets for my new house and I am in need of some ideas for filling one 12" wide upper cabinet. I was planning on doing a spice rack pull out and probably will, but the design limits its usefulness. In order to make the heights of each cabinet variable, I placed this cabinet between a corner cabinet and a larger 15" deep cabinet. It is 12" deep and wide, with a 1.5" face frame, netting a 9" opening. It is also an inset cabinet. So, to get the rack out even close to the front of the other cabinets, it will need to "overtravel" three inches. The longest I can find that will fit are 10" slides and they only extend 1.5 inches beyond the front.

Is anyone aware of a product that would make this pull out extend to a useful position? Also, I'd like to hide the slides. I've never done it before, but can I reverse the slides and put them on the inside of the base of the pull out? I assume that I need the same ones at the top to keep it stable, but I've seen some with center mounted slides.

It's a terrible photo, but the cabinet I'm referring to is the one to the left of the corner. I am open to other suggestions as well.

Thanks, Dan

Bill Dufour
06-10-2017, 12:16 AM
I might use it to store sheet pans or pot lids on a pull out. How is the cook supposed to reach up there to get spices off the top shelves? Maybe rolls of foil and paper.
B ill

Jared Sankovich
06-10-2017, 6:43 AM
Can't help with the extra overtravel, but yes it's easy to hide the slides.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v695/jar944/rps20150728_134709_903_zpsc9m0mf1v.jpg

Martin Wasner
06-10-2017, 7:00 AM
Cut a hole in the back of the cabinet/rock. Buy longer slides that go into the stud cavity. Ta-da, and extra 4" of slide travel

Dave Richards
06-10-2017, 7:46 AM
Slightly OT.