PDA

View Full Version : How best to thin these boards?

paul simonson
06-04-2017, 5:54 PM
I have hardwood boards 1" thick 6" wide and 24" long. I need them reduced in thickness from 1" to about 19mm.

Currently I am using a thicknesser/planer like this;
And it's doing the job well. As it's a hardwood I am having to do very small cuts, about a quarter of a mm at a time. So it's very time consuming and making a lot of sawdust.

I am fairly new to woodworking so wanted to put it out there and ask is there a quicker method to reduce the thickness of a board this size? At a reasonable cost!
thanks!

Jamie Buxton
06-04-2017, 6:10 PM
I don't know that specific planer, but most will take a pass that is substantially deeper than 10 thousandths of an inch. Try taking off a whole millimeter, or even more. If you get to the point that the machine bogs down, back off.

Grant Wilkinson
06-04-2017, 7:37 PM
According to the manual, the max cut you can take with your boards is 1.6 mm. Since you are trying to take off approx 6 mm, you should be able to do it very conservatively in 4 passes.

Doug Garson
06-04-2017, 8:23 PM
Two additional things to consider. To minimize the chances of your boards warping you should take equal passes off each side rather than taking it all off one side. If the final finish is critical you might want to take one thicker pass on each side then a final thinner pass on each side. You can judge for yourself if the quality of the finish meets your approval with the thicker pass then no need to make the final pass thinner and you can take four 6mm passes as Grant suggests.

Jim Finn
06-04-2017, 8:35 PM
Re-saw this on a band saw or a table saw and then plane to the exact thickness necessary.

paul simonson
06-05-2017, 8:45 AM