PDA

View Full Version : Need some reassurance please.

Sam Murdoch
05-05-2017, 10:54 AM
I am setting into a project of making a huge pile of cabinet doors. These were to be maple but are now red birch.
My supplier could not source 5/4 red birch in sufficient quantity so I ended up with 4/4 milled to 13/16"

FOR THE FIRST TIME in my long career as a cabinet maker/furniture builder I am faced with needing to build cabinet doors without the option of flat jointing all my stock. The 13/16" stock I have will barely allow one pas over the jointer before it is too thin.

NOW - I have some very nice birch here but naturally some of it has more shape than is suitable for door construction. OF COURSE I will cull and select to optimize yield and prioritize straight sections but invariably (and here I need the reassurance) I will end up with some doors that are not dead nuts flat. Many in the 15" X 38" tall range (others shorter and others taller). I really hate to need to depend on the Blum hinges to pull these into submission. Should not need more than 2 hinges anyway for that size door.

Assuming that I manage my stock well - should I be concerned about the inevitable slight wobble? There will NOT be any catches on these doors and adding them is not an option. Is a door that wobbles a slight bit on a flat table top likely to cause trouble when hung?

Thank you for chiming in. Please be nice.:rolleyes:

glenn bradley
05-05-2017, 11:05 AM
Depends on the quality expectation at the installation site. A lot of kitchens get built with whatever board comes off the stack next, parts get forced into position with pneumatic clamps and the resulting doors get wide belt sanded to bring the parts into a common plane. A nice thick coat of finish and most folks don't know the difference. If this is a mass produced project and 'you get what you get' is OK, I would forge ahead. There may be the odd door that gets scrapped.