PDA

View Full Version : any advantage to fusion 360 if I'm currently using sketchup?

Jim Barstow
04-30-2017, 1:31 PM
I uses sketchup for all my design work. I'm far from an expert but I can build a reasonable model. Has anyone tried fusion 360 instead? It looks like it might not have some of the idiosyncrasies of sketchup but it really is a cad tool, not a design tool. I suspect I'd get bogged down in the cad requirements that sketchup ignores.

lowell holmes
04-30-2017, 2:27 PM
Why don't you get the free trial version and see if you like it.

I used AutoCad for 40 years. so not much intimidates me concerning cad. If you use Sketchup, you should do fine.

I have legal copies of AutoCad just for the record. I also have Sketchup.

John Densmore
05-01-2017, 12:45 AM
Once you get up to speed on fusion 360, you"ll realize what a toy SketchUp is. It's like a sawstop vs. table top ryobi.

Andy Giddings
05-01-2017, 12:58 AM
I've used both and agree with John - Fusion (natively) is much more powerful. You can get a bunch of extensions which make Sketchup closer. Both are relatively easy to learn but they are different so jumping from one to the other is not straightforward. In terms of which is better for your needs, only you can determine that. Both are free for hobbyist users so the only thing you have to lose by trying them out is your time and effort.

Joe Jensen
05-01-2017, 1:31 AM
Fusion 360 is free if you do under $100K per year in revenue using the tool.

Jeffrey Klisiewicz
05-10-2017, 4:16 PM