PDA

View Full Version : Preparing Artwork for EZCAD

Kristian Matz
04-13-2017, 9:24 AM
Has anyone come up with a good system for preparing logos and text for importing in to ezcad? So far I have tried corel (x5) and illustrator.

All of our artwork are clean vectors, we do not use any bitmaps. I have a lot of experience preparing logos for engraving on both rotary machines and lasers.

What is the best format to export? I have not been able to use corel with our having to do a lot of work to the art after I import in ezcad. Illustrator is better, but I still get a lot of duplicate lines and I have to go in and click on every line and delete one of them.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you

Scott Shepherd
04-13-2017, 10:12 AM
Have you tried saving it to AI v8? Still getting duplicates with that?

Kristian Matz
04-13-2017, 10:19 AM
I will give it a shot. Is that from illustrator or corel?

Scott Shepherd
04-13-2017, 10:36 AM
I will give it a shot. Is that from illustrator or corel?

Either one, maybe try both on the same file and see it one works better.

Gary Hair
04-13-2017, 10:54 AM
An easy trick to simplify artwork is to use smart fill. Create a new layer and smartfill the image then export as an AI v8 file - 99.9% of your problems will go away.

Kristian Matz
04-13-2017, 11:03 AM
I did a logo in both Corel (exported as .ai 8.0) and in Illustrator saved as .ai 8.0

The corel file was horrible and would take a long time to fix. The Illustrator file was pretty. I will continue to test.

Kristian Matz
04-13-2017, 11:22 AM
I am trying to do this but I cant figure it out. I am adding a layer, selecting the smart fill tool and they clik the logo?

Bert Kemp
04-13-2017, 11:26 AM
you have to clic inside the logo between the lines

Bill George
04-13-2017, 11:30 AM
Export to EZCad I used DXF R14, text needs to be Hatched of course. The other I use is BMP and its slow but it gets done.

Gary Hair
04-13-2017, 11:34 AM