PDA

View Full Version : Shocking experience with belt/disc sander

Anthony Whitesell
04-09-2017, 9:26 PM
A few years back I purchased an old 9" disc/6"x48" belt sander. I don't know the year. I don't know the manufacturer, it might be a Craftsman. It is mounted on a post and belt drive.

I have been using it for a few years and either never noticed or was very lucky. Today while I was using I noticed I was being zapped. At first I thought it was static electricity, but it seemed too persistent. I took the voltmeter from the chassis to a ground output pin and was reading 120V. The plug appears original and not polarized. If I flip the plug 180 degrees, the problem goes away.

Why did it start happening now? Have I always been lucky and put the plug in the same way or is there something breaking? I took the area around the switch and capacitor apart, I don't see anything shorting to the chassis. I can't get a ohm reading (open circuit) from each plug pin to the chassis.

Mike Henderson
04-09-2017, 11:10 PM
You definitely have a short from one line to the chassis. You really need to fix the short for safety. This is something I might do but I hesitate to recommend it. Connect the chassis to ground - a good ground. Then plug it in the way it was shocking you. The line will be shorted to ground and you may be able to see where it is burned.

Otherwise, while this is not the safest thing to do, you can put a polarized plug on the tool to make sure that the hot side is not the line shorted to the chassis. But you really need to fix the short.

Otherwise, dispose of the tool.

Mike

[The short probably developed recently. Could be a wire in the field of the motor is shorted to the housing. Vibration can wear through the insulation on those wires.]

Anthony Whitesell
04-10-2017, 5:46 AM