PDA

View Full Version : 50w Tube replacement

Mike Audleman
04-07-2017, 1:52 PM
I know I have been absent for quite a while. Well, because the laser has been too.

I am finally getting around to swapping out the laser tube that failed in 2015. Yea yea, it hasn't been a priority. Not really one now either but I finally got my round 'tuit.

So I ordered a tube off ebay and should be here next week, so I will give it a go.

Is there any docs on laser tube replacements? Never done one so its a new ball game for me. I was a UHF TV RF engineer so I got all the safety things down when messin with KV power. Its been powered off and unplugged for 2y but I will still verify no HV before touching anything. You usually only get to screw things up once before your widow gets all your stuff. Other than that, anything I should watch out for or be careful of? And general tips on bringing a new tube online for the first time?

Bill George
04-07-2017, 4:19 PM
Hi Mike, nice to see you back. Its been off for 2 years, no issues but if you want to take a jumper and ground the HV lead for your own piece of mind. Take a picture or two of how the tube is installed now and just R&R, make sure the electrical and hose connections are the same as the old. Make sure you have water flow before powering up the unit. If you have a mA meter in the ground side of the tube you can make sure your not overdriving it. I purchased my new tube from LightObject and it had lots more power than the old one ever did.

I see you still have your 3D printer.

Mike Audleman
04-07-2017, 6:29 PM
I am quite sure the HV is dead by now. But, as I said, you only get to be wrong once. Dumping it across an incandescent bulb is an easy peace of mind. And, yea, lots of photos, especially of position so I can get it back in the mounts in a similar position.

Looked there. They didn't have one labeled as 50w and nobody got back to me from their email link. So I got this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/282385158010