PDA

View Full Version : Newbie help on Chinese 80 w

Justin Hensel
04-06-2017, 10:44 PM
I am a newbie so I apologize up front. I'll try to be precise as I can. I have a JD90120 80w with servo motors and MPC 6252 controller. Changed laser tube yesterday and now i can't even cut through 1/8 Masonite on 15 speed and 100%. I have tried aligning the mirrors and changing them but the laser comes out to the left 2.8 mm from the nozzle. Also when I used masking tape to spot the laser( I place poster board behind it to protect mirror) the laser dot on the third mirror seems wide.its an extremely dark with charring and not much inside the circle. When running test of laser, laser time set at 340ms and a power of 20% 4 short blasts make it through 1/16 plywood but when Running a 25mmx25mm box at 15 speed and 100 power doesn't even make it halfway throug. Any ideas or advice?

Keith Downing
04-06-2017, 10:59 PM
Sounds like you still may not have the mirrors aligned correctly. They must be aligned, including the mirror above the lens and the lens, correctly and be clean to get reliable results. Here is a video that outlines the process on a chines machine if you're unsure of what you're doing. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wY5D27TQwZI
Also, check to make sure the lens isn't cracked.

If that isn't the problem, then you just need to start eliminating possibilities: tube bad or installed incorrectly, power supply failing, fuses blown, etc. Do you have a mA meter on your machine? If so, what are you seeing at 100% power? That's usually a good place to start.

Doug Fisher
04-07-2017, 1:50 AM
Keith made good suggestions so I won't repeat them but here are a few other things to consider:

Have you made sure your laser is aligned correctly from the last mirror down through the lens so that it is coming out of the aperture of the nozzle in the center (e.g. without hitting anywhere on the inside of the nozzle before exiting)?

Is your old power supply appropriate for your new tube?