PDA

View Full Version : Table saw blade on shaper

Brandon Larkin
03-28-2017, 10:11 AM
Greetings all,

I'm an experienced woodworker and try to maintain safety.
I also like to get the opinions of other to make sure I'm not missing something. Hence my question.

I can get a Forrest Saw Blade with 1 1/4" arbor (the same arbor on my 5 hp shaper).
Why I want to use it is, I occasionally need to flush trim a face where a curved side meets a flat side. I do this a lot with my shaper (far faster and easier than a router). But some curves push the edge I need trimmed out close to 4". That's beyong all of my current shaper tooling. NapGladu has a 250mm groover - for well over $500.
A 10" saw blade is under $175 and would fit the bill nicely.
My shaper has the clearance and power to run it.
Forrest blades usually are great about minimal deflection.
I'd take all necessary safety precautions.
I know they weren't "designed" for shapers... but is there anything I am missing?

Thanks in advance,

Brandon

scott spencer
03-28-2017, 10:20 AM
You'll have to be very aware of the RPM and resulting tip speed. Most saws spin in the 3500-4000 rpm range.

Brandon Larkin
03-28-2017, 10:25 AM
Great point!

Should be good there as my Shaper can do 3k or 4k.

Thanks!

Kevin Jenness
03-28-2017, 10:37 AM
I've used paired blades for tenon cheeks and stack dado sets for grooving in the past. As Scott said, just observe the rpm guidelines, and rig up a guard if you don't have a large enough dust hood.

Bill Dufour
03-28-2017, 8:53 PM
Why do you need such a large diameter? You could use a trimsaw blade or a biscuit joiner blade and have the hole enlarged for a lot less money. Even a skilsaw blade.
Too high a speed may throw a tooth in your face or gut.
Bill D.

Warren Lake
03-28-2017, 9:59 PM