PDA

View Full Version : Inventory - Amount and Variety

Jeff Heinrichs
03-15-2017, 9:38 PM
I'm brand new to laser engraving as a business. I have been in either the capital equipment manufacturing industry, or the military for the last 30 years.

As a brand new laser engraver provider, I'm trying to get a sense for how much inventory and the variety that I should initially carry. I know that's probably the million dollar question that can't be answered without knowing exactly what I'm targeting. Since I can't know everything up front, here is my general targeted services:

Material (mainly metal) etching for commercial business - engraving of their parts, so no need for inventory related to that
Custom engraving for organizations that want products to sell for planned events
Specialized engraving for end-consumers who want specialized products
Creating of my own art/products to turn and sell through online or through retail shops locally - (lol... I'll hopefully be able to decide what I want to do there).
Thinking of providing use of my laser to others for their art, products, etc.
Not targeting the awards market specifically, but won't turn it down either.

I know this general, but I hope it's enough that I can solicit advice from others who started somewhere and with something for inventory. My initial thinking is to keep some sheet stock of 1/4" or 1/8" birch, acrylics, etc., rather than trying to keep specific "expensive" blank items around.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Scott Shepherd
03-15-2017, 9:45 PM