PDA

View Full Version : Help! Where to find a replacement pulley for my drill press

Roger Feeley
03-15-2017, 3:24 PM
I replaced my drill press motor with a new motor and VFD. But the new shaft had a keyway instead of a flat. So, thinking that I was a good little soldier, I took the step pulley from the motor to a local machine shop to have a keyway cut into it. The first time they pressed the broach, the pulley cracked.

So now I'm on the hunt for a new motor pulley.

There are two complications:

1. I don't need a step pulley but I do need a boss that offsets the pulley about 1.5" above the shaft which is what the old pulley did. At least I think I need the offset.
2. The existing belts on my drill press say m-19 and m-21. I don't know what the replacement for m-profile belts is. They are 35 years old but appear to be in decent shape. They are about 3/8" wide at the widest and about 1/4" thick.

The first thing I need to know is the answer to #2 above. Then I can go off and hunt for that belt profile on the all knowing internet. I sort of looked on McMaster Carr and MSC but I didn't exactly know what I was looking for.

The shaft is 5/8" with a 3/16" key.

Roger Feeley
03-15-2017, 4:41 PM
I've been researching this on my own.
http://www.lkh.com.sg/products_conventional_vbelts.html
This page tells me that all the angles on belts are the same at forty degrees. It appears that to get a good fit, I need to compare the bottom width on my belt to another belt and also insure that the top width will fit in the new pulley.

I'm thinking that I can use an 'A' profile pulley with a 'm' belt and get away with it.

Is there any harm in trying?

Wayne Lomman
03-16-2017, 7:40 AM