PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to Engraving questions

Dmitry Beker
03-14-2017, 9:08 PM
Hi All,

I am a retail store owner and have been considering buying a laser engraving machine. From what I've gathered so far. avoiding Chinese-made machines is a good idea. But full disclosure, I am very new to the engraving process and would love to know what machines you would recommend? The product will be retail goods, mostly beveled glass, which I plan to offer for engraving services for. What is the approximate price range for the machines? Does it make more sense to lease or buy? If leasing, do they usually cover maintenance? And finally, what are some suggested machine manufacturers that are worth looking into or that you can recommend?

Also if can you please suggest a few places where we can start comparison shopping process.

Many, many thanks in advance!

Bert Kemp
03-14-2017, 11:45 PM
Theres the big 3 Trotec, Epilog, and Universal Laser.Prices start around 10K for entry level desk top and just go up from there.Their expensive to buy and repair. Theres many business owners here that have Chinese machines and are very happy with them. But you can't buy an ebay machine you have to get a decent Chinese machine and they will cost about a third of what one of the big 3 will cost you. Yes engraving is slower then the expensive big 3 but they do a good job, and are easy to work on and repair. Prices go up with bed size and power. Sp you have to know what size materials you'll be working with. You say engraving Glass so if your just engraving and not cutting I guess for glass 30 to 60 watt range would work. If you plan on cutting wood at all you might jump to 80 watts. Over 80 on a glass co2 tube you could loose some engraving as its hard to power down for engraving.
Oh recommendation for around 7K you can get a decent Chinese machine from an American reseller with good support. I would Look at Rabbit Laser USA in Ohio or Boss Laser In FL.

Keith Downing
03-15-2017, 1:50 AM