PDA

View Full Version : Epilog Mini18 25watt

James Aldrich
10-13-2005, 2:01 PM
Hello everyone. I have been watching this forum for some time now, and I must say you are a great group of people. I just now joined the group. I was wondering if anyone has used or has the Epilog Mino18 25W laser. I am new to lasers, and was looking at purchasing the mini18 25W as a starting system. My wife and I are on a tight budget, and the price of the 25w mini is affordable. We are looking at doing glass and marble tile. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

Joe Pelonio
10-13-2005, 2:25 PM
I'd make sure they do a demo for you on a marble tile, and also cutting 1/4" wood and acrylic. My Epilog is 45 watts and I do marble at 100% power, if you go slow it could be too low a resolution for photos, and
you will at some point want to cut 1/4".

Bob Tate
10-13-2005, 2:26 PM
Hi, I have the Mini 18 35 Watt. Mighty fine piece of hardware. I spent weeks trying to decide on a bigger table, more power, etc.
I find that the 35 Watt has enough poser for anything I could possibly want. A 25 Watt may require you to go a little slower but will get the job done just fine. The only thing I am not sure about is if you wanted to cut wood, like a quarter inch. The 25 Watt may require you to slow down enough that you get a lot of burned edges. Some people say you can burn in two passes. I have had no luck there, the edges are too burned. I am sure the 25 will suffice for anything else.
You can get a lot of great help around here. There is lots of experience hanging out here. I am not sure how much is with the Mini. If you need it, let me know and I will give you my e-mail address and I can help you out if you need it.

Bob

Lee DeRaud
10-13-2005, 2:43 PM
Ok, a slightly contrary opinion: 25W is plenty for cutting 1/4" wood of most common species. There are some species (mainly oily exotics) that just burn, but I don't think more power will help all that much.